Tags

, , , ,


For now, it looks like this is the end of the blog:

Being a Writer

~ Practicing the art of writing, while living a busy life

cropped-banner_02-26-2012.jpgHISTORY & REASONS:

When I first started this blog, my goal was to catalog my journey as I searched how to find time to write, while living a busy lifestyle. In other words, it was all for me (a common beginning to many things I undertake). I figured at the time, that if I blogged then some magical discovery process would happen and the following results would come out of that:

  • I’d become a better writer.
  • I’d actually complete more projects instead of having twenty-seven unfinished projects.
  • I’d get published through a traditional publisher by submitting one of those finished projects.
  • Maybe my own discoveries and success would be of benefit to others:
    • Who also struggle with sporadic writing habits.
    • Who feel life is getting in the way of writing.
    • Who want to eventually make the transition from hobby writer to published author.

I have little evidence for this next statement. . . but I think most bloggers blog for the following reasons instead of the reasons I started my blog:

  • They hope to gain subscribers who will comment and give them some validation that what they are blogging is of value.
  • They hope to gain subscribers / traffic in order to generate revenue from their blog.
  • They hope to establish a platform / brand for themselves as a writer or use the blog to market and support another business endeavor they are involved in.

I obviously had none of those goals in mind when I started this blog a few years ago. This blog has become more of a personal journal log that I’ve chosen to make public. That does not mean the other reasons someone might blog are any less noble or of value than my own reasons for blogging.

What does this mean for this blog?

  1. It could be the series finale. Like in a TV Show, there are season finales (story ends for now, but will restart in a future date) or series finale (where the story is done. No more coming in the future.) Today it looks like this chapter in my public posted story is over.
  2. Or this may turn into a season finale. Depending on what happens in the future with my status of moving from writer hobbyist to indie publisher to prolific published author, this blog could get resurrected in the future.
419mbXgCDtL._SX374_BO1,204,203,200_IMAGE SOURCE: AMAZON PRODUCT PAGE

Recently, I finished reading, ‘Kill Your Blog’ by Buck Flogging (aka Matt Stone). In a lot of ways that read was similar to, ‘Damn! Why Didn’t I Write That?: How Ordinary People Are Raking in $100,000.00… or More Writing Nonfiction Books & How You Can Too!’ by Marc McCutchen. Both books confirmed the changes I’ve already been moving in the direction of:

  • To sustain myself financially and eventually quit my day job, I should pursue non-fiction writing
  • Fiction writing can be a hobby, after I’ve met my daily non-fiction writing word count
  • Several of the my blog posts could be turned into books. Why not turn them into books; sell the books and generate some funds, which will help build my author platform?
  • I’m actively doing writing in other areas (i.e My Amazon reviews are ranked #258 out of millions, at the time of this writing), but I could be writing books instead.

Life isn’t any less busy, but busier. Yet, I’m getting the writing done!! Maybe why I started this blog has already paid off and I have subconsciously learned the lessons over the last few years that I initially set out to discover.

Currently life is busy with the following:

  • Enrolled in two college courses, one of which is a compressed Accounting II course and the workload is no joke!
  • I work 40-50 hrs a week, as the sole provider for my family.
  • I make time for my wife.
  • I make time for my four(4) teenagers.
  • I’m participating in NaNoWriMo 2015 and not falling too far behind in word count goal.
  • I’m involved in weekly bible studies through my church, participate in church board meetings and once a month lead Sunday School class for Junior Highers
  • I’m getting my daily fiction and non-fiction book reading done.
  • I’ve cut out most TV and withdraw symptoms have not been too painful. At the same time, kids and I still watch The Flash and Doctor Who together once a week.
  • If I catch a movie in the theater once a month, I don’t feel deprived in any way.
  • I’ve discovered some great new music while listening to Pandora during my writing sessions.
  • I’m doing some repairs/chores on the house. Not my forte or passion, but it gets done.
  • I’m still getting out for a run by the river and on the trails. This is providing needed Vitamin D, but more importantly gets me out of the house and away from the keyboard for those mental health sessions.
  • I’m writing more often in my journal, especially after purchasing a fountain pen and ink. Journaling long-hand is in itself therapeutic.

Overall, I personally no longer need to blog for me. I’m going to keep this blog site available, if anyone needs to reference old posts or grab one of the free tools I’ve uploaded over the years.

Otherwise, ‘Adieu!’, and keep on writing!

 

