Tags

, , ,


A co-worker and I were out for a walk on our break and started talking about writing. During the conversation I finally verbalized an issue I was having with being consistent at writing and answered it for myself too:

Me: “Back in March I was consistent with getting up at 5am every day and running. Ten weeks later I ran a half-marathon at a good pace. So I know when it comes to some things I have the capacity to be consistent for more than a week.”

Co-worker: “Why aren’t you consistent with writing then?”

Me: “Duh! Setting a plan / goal of 1,000 words a day is too vague and not detailed enough. Every year I set my mind to NaNoWriMo I can easily complete the challenge. . .at least I can easily complete it every year since I started planning ahead and outlining every scene I’m going to write.”

Co-Worker: “So you need a better plan?”

Me: “Yes, I need to write out a better, more detailed plan similar to using the S.M.A.R.T goals method. For the half-marathon I knew exactly what I would be doing every day for ten weeks. It was specific and achievable. Darn I’m so stupid sometimes!”

Are you struggling with consistency and motivation? Maybe you too can benefit from creating a specific writing plan to help you with consistency.

smartIMAGE FROM: http://hunterswritings.com/2014/07/10/productivity-fortnight-goals-to-tasks/

 

Here are two articles that hit on this topic of creating a writing plan for yourself:

Make a plan. Keep on writing!

