Tags

, , ,


Working to get back into daily habits and scheduled tasks for me means my daily list includes:

  • Devotional  / Scripture reading & meditation
  • Write 1,000 new words
  • Read <current book title>, before falling asleep at night
  • Complete at least one honey-do list item
  • Don’t just tell my wife and kids they are loved, but show them

Though I’m a Protestant, for my daily  devotional I’ve recently started reading — what is probably the second most read book in the world (Bible is #1) — which is a Catholic favorite titled: The Imitation of Christ by Thomas Kempis.

These meditations written down over 500 years ago, continue to challenge readers, Catholic or not. In Chapter III the author has a rhetorical question followed by a clear statement:

Who hath a harder battle to fight than he who striveth for self-mastery? And this should be our endeavor, even to master self, and thus daily to grow stronger than self, and go on unto perfection

It seems what most of us writers struggle with is, self-mastery. If we mastered self, then we would have little excuse not to meet our daily writing goals. With self-mastery we would write more, regardless of what life throws our way or our current emotional and/or mental state.

I’m convinced that on my own power I’ll never have the necessary level of self-mastery, as proven by working at this ‘writing thing’ for the last twenty-five years with little to show for it. I’m convinced by the Scriptures that the power of the Holy Spirit can change even me; empowering me to have the necessary self-mastery to accomplish what I’m called to do for my time in this world.

As I strive to tackle being a consistent writer and getting more words on paper, I’m choosing to rely on help from above to develop in me the necessary self-mastery. Combine this with keeping myself motivated through the tools available, I’m finding I am writing more.

Find what will help you with self-mastery and lead you to ‘perfection’, as you keep on writing!

 

 

