Tags

, ,


This past Saturday, I started promoting LOST: Six Engaging Science Fiction Short Stories – Book 2 (One Mind, Different Voices Series) as a FREE Kindle ebook.

LOST_cover_500x750_cleaner

In 3 1/2 days of trying to market via websited/blogs/newletters and via Twitter, I’ve had 68 people pick this up for free, so far, and another 5 purchased one of the other ebooks in the series.

Initially I didn’t know if these were good results or not, especially for a FREE ebook. Then I compared it with previous sale results:

  • As of this morning, ranked #8 on the FREE Kindle Books > Science Fiction > Anthologies & Short Stories for AmazonUK
  • As of this morning, ranked #10 on the FREE Kindle Books > Science Fiction > Anthologies & Short Stories for AmazonUS
  • September 2013 Free promo of Book 1 with old cover and zero(0) marketing = 109 Free and 4 sales of Book 2
  • February 2014 Free promo of Book 2 with old cover and zero(0) marketing = 52 Free and 1 sale of Book 1

Thus with only 1.5 days left to go, it’s not feeling like the effort has been worth the results. Except . . . the ranking is high — at least in this one category — and once the book is no longer free, then we may see if there are additional sales or not.

Saturday I spent a good four hours of learning twitter and sending out bad tweets that provided very little results. But, last night (Monday), Twitter took me about 20-minutes of tweeting and there was an immediate jump in customers picking the book up.

Also, I found a lot of the websites/blogs/newsletters I submitted the book to last month are actually going unmonitored with nobody updating them. Below is a list of sites that I was able to submit the book to for FREE (no cost to me) and eventually see it show up on their site/newsletter:

Twitter Groups that retweeted or posted a message I sent them:

  • @TheBookTweeters
  • @WriterOwned
  • @BookYrNextRead
  • @wisegrey0wl
  • @BookPugUK
  • @book_angel(same as site form above)

A lot of the sales and attention wouldn’t happen if I hadn’t put together two sets of six short stories each. Also, the third compilation set (which includes all twelve short stories) has done better than expected with zero marketing. Not to mention the 70% return on a $2.99/$3.99 book is a lot better than 35% on a $0.99 book.

I’m still learning each day and finding ways to get more efficient with this process. It will be interesting to see next month when I try and promote a pay book versus a free book. There are still many other forms of marketing I haven’t explored yet (Facebook, eBay, Pinterest, virtual blog tour, a 4th installment, etc).

Keep writing books and maybe these links can help you market your book too.

