This past weekend our family of six and another family of three sat in front of the big screen TV to watch, The Lego Movie. If you have seen this movie let me stop you and say, this post has nothing to do with the theme song, Everything Is Awesome!

wpid-the_lego_movie_poster.jpg

But it’s been awhile since I last saw a movie where the dialogue flowed so well that it had me at the edge of my seat, not wanting to miss a thing. What further highlighted the great writing was the timing in the humor.

I’m the first to admit I’ve very inexperienced in comedy writing. This movie did a great job of taking great dialogue combined with great timing to gives us some wonderful laughs. With that said, my kids haven’t stopped quoting the movie. . .after only ONE viewing!

Lucy: [about Batman’s song] That’s real music, Emmet. It’s dark and brooding.

Emmet: Hey, I can be dark and brooding too – Guys, look, a rainbow!

So if you haven’t seen this movie yet and want one great, contemporary example of flowing dialogue:

  • Rent or buy the movie
  • Turn on subtitles
  • Watch & listen closely

You too may find yourself quoting the movie by the end of it.

Emmet: [while driving] I wanna go home!

[a house lands in the middle of the roadway and Emmet crashes into it]

Emmet: That’s not what I meant!

