Tags


WORD COUNT:

Day15

NOTE: This scene only works if I add “negative effects” to the scene where Ram tries to open the yellow portal immediately again, where he chooses to not use his lifeforce to do it, but inadvertently lets tendrils of energy reach out and start to suck the lifeforce of others…like the team…in order to generate the power to open the portal.

==================

When the team got back to the lab J.J. threw down the gear near the entrance and stomped back to his desk towards the back of the office. How could he? I guess I could fathom the need for the scientist types to be over curious and lose some sense when in the moment of discovery. But to put those of us who he called friends in danger? That was just wrong.

J.J. fired up the computer on his desk and proceeded to fume as he tried looking at email, the Internet, anything. He could see out of the corner of his eye, the other stepped around him warily as they made their way to their desk. Ramsden had his head down deep in thought and this ticked J.J. off even more.

“Well?” J.J. said louder than he had expected it to come out. Everyone halted. Silvia and Jude looking between Ramsden and J.J. Ramsden looking at J.J. with a quizzical look.

“What?” Ramsden said.

“That was wrong Ram,” as J.J. said it a small relief started to fill him, just by stating the obvious.

“I already said I’m sorry to everyone. I had no idea, but as soon as I realized what was happening I stopped it.” Silvia and Jude said nothing but continued to look between J.J. and Ramsden. J.J. wished they would speak up. Some support would be nice, but it seemed it was up to him to get through to his friend.

“That’s just it. . .twice now this project has had unexpected and undesirable results. For God’s sake you nearly killed yourself the first time. You could have done the same to us today, for all we know.” J.J. was frustrated beyond belief. He wanted to hit something. Not necessarily Ramsden, but maybe he should. Instead he pushed his chair forcefully away from the desk and put his head in his hands.

“I know. That is why I’m sorry guys. This is all new territory for all of us. I’m trying my best here.” Ramsden pleaded.

J.J. looked up and said, “You need to stop the project.”

“What do you mean?” Ramsden asked stunned.

“I mean stop this whole thing. Too much is at risk. At least stop till you find out how the Ancients did what you’re trying to do without killing themselves or those around them.” J.J. exhaled loudly and shrugged his shoulders. “Unless you have a better option, it’s the safest.”

“I don’t think I can do that,” Ramsden said softly.

“Well then, maybe you need to continue on by yourself!” J.J. was angry now. Why didn’t he get it? Why is it that Ramsden has never concerned himself with the safety of others, let alone himself? It’s a miracle the man was still alive today, he’s had so many close calls over the years.

“You know I don’t want that. I need you guys. It’s not like I’m purposely trying to hurt anyone,” Ramsden said as he leaned against a desk for support.

“That’s part of the problem. You are hurting people, even if you don’t meant to be,” J.J. threw up his hands. He didn’t know what it would take to get through to Ramsden. This was already a lot to ask of himself as he didn’t like conflict with those close to him. Strangers he could get in their face all day long, but someone who was like a brother to him, was one of the most difficult things for J.J. to do. At the same time, he knew that if he cared for Ramsden he couldn’t let the issue lie.

“There has to be another way,” Ramsden said softly as if thought. “I hear what you’re saying,” he said as he stood taller and faced the team. It was as if he had come to a decision. “Again, I’m sorry. You know me. I’ve never really been one to think about safety of myself or others first. Remember that time I grabbed you and we dry sledded down that gravel mountain side?” He he laughed.

J.J. remembered. He had been caught off guard as Ramsden bear hugged him from behind, lifted him off his feet and jumped with both of them onto a metal box. It slid down the hill at incredible speeds. J.J. thought they would for sure hit a rock and get shot out into open air only to hit the ground and break their neck. But they simply had come to a slow stop once the slope evened out into a grassy field. It had been exhilarating. He wouldn’t have done have the things he had experienced unless Ramsden prodded him to do so or surprised him and gave him no choice.He smiled with the memory.

“You’re a crazy bastard you know, Ram.” J.J. said shaking his head in resignation.

“I know. But that’s why you love me.” Ram said with a beaming smile.

“Okay enough of the bro-mance. He’s right Ram, you need to be more careful with something completely foreign like this,” Silvia said with her hands on her hips and a flat look shared between Ramsden and J.J.

“Yes, mame, I hear you. Please don’t take my levity as an indication that I won’t be more careful going forward.” Satisfied with the answer Silvia nodded and continued to unload the equipment she had been carrying.

J.J. watched Ramsden take a deep breath and walk off to the back part of the building where they kept their gear. I really hope he did hear me and is more careful. I love the man like a brother, but I wouldn’t put it past him to go off and do another test on his own. I’ll have to keep an eye on him, J.J. thought as he went about retrieving his thrown bag of equipment.

