Tags

,


It all started two weeks ago.

I got up before the sun on a Saturday morning and jumped on my bike for a ride. I followed the Folsom-Auburn to Hazel/Hatchery loop around the American River, near Folsom & Orangevale, CA (part of the Jedediah Smith Memorial Trail). The worship music pumping through my iPod took my thoughts above this earth while I worked at dodging the joggers on the path.

There were key moments during that ride where I had a light breeze behind me, allowing me to raise my hands and coast along like I was the king of the world (movie reference intentional). When I briefly closed my eyes, it felt like flying and it was a wonderful feeling.

For the next hour I figuratively dumped my stress behind me on the path with each turn of the pedals. With each near miss of a jogger on the wrong side of the road, I thanked God for all the blessings in my life.

About forty-five minutes into the ride I started thinking about writing. I was able to let go of the guilt weighing me down, for having done little to no writing in recent months. I was able to refocus my mind on my writer’s mission statement (see the About section of this blog).

By the end of the ride, I wasn’t tired, rather I was mentally rejuvenated. The minute I got home I jotted down some story ideas that had come to me while on the ride. That one hour getting up early on a Saturday paid back exponentially in motivation and a refreshed perspective on writing.

What do you need to do in order to rejuvenate yourself to keep writing?

Do you need to start a new project, instead of slaving yet another five years on the same project?

What do you need to do today to feel like your writing is fresh and vibrant?

What do you need to do today to clear the mind and re-motivate yourself?

Whatever it is, DO IT! And then come back and write.

