Tags

, ,


I was going through the hundreds of Amazon.com reviews I’ve written over the years. I was trying to figure out why my reviewer’s rank had dropped from 270 to nearly 440 in the last two to three months.  Doing so, led me to reviews I wrote a few years back on what are now some of my favorite reads.

As I browsed through my old reviews, the spark of remembrance blossomed and I wanted immediately to go back and re-read this or that novel, or start up with the next book in the series. When I look at the covers online and think of the experience I had with some of those books, I’m left with such a nice, warm feeling inside.

On a related note, not all my reviews were fiction; several were for books on Writing.

Looking at the books on Writing, a brief hint of guilt passed over me, because I haven’t been writing as of late. But that feeling was immediately replaced with more warm feelings of the fantastic, easy to follow advice I had received in several writing books at that time in my writing life.

Back in the day I owned a bookshelf with one row consisting of favorite novels, another with favorite writing books, another with books waiting for me to read. Years ago I gave up that one bookshelf in order so we could store the needed homeschooling books for our kids. Thus, no longer can I glance over at the bookshelf, see the reference books that spark the Writer in me, and get motivated to write.

Others may be like me and only have a digital bookshelf; whether in the form of Amazon.com reviews or an Excel spreadsheet with the date read, title, author and a 1-to-5- star rating (I have this too).

Whether digitally or on a nice bookshelf in the corner of your home, go back and look at some of your favorite writing books. It may mean dusting them off and re-reading them. It may mean, you reboot your desire to put words to paper (literally or digitally) and generate some warm feelings for yourself.

