Tags

, , ,


It’s been over two weeks since my last post.

First I’m amazed at how quickly time flies. Second, I’m amazed at how easy it has been to decide to do other things instead of write.

I was out for a Sunday morning walk with my wife today and we were talking about this. I pointed out how I set some goals in 2012 and actually hit them. I’ve set some specific goals for 2013, but have made no progress on those. Why is that?

The foremost reason seems to be that I’m not reviewing my goals on a regular basis nor motivating myself to write by reading articles/books on writing or connecting with other writers. Thus I have some activities to add to my daily/weekly schedule to help keep me motivated towards my writing goals.

Switching gears a bit. . .

We had some friends over this past week and we were talking about retiring early (between ages 45-50) as an option. If not retiring, at least getting to a point of only working 20 hours a week for health benefits.

I’ve read several interviews with writers and how their “full time” writing job is between 4-6 hours a day. Well couldn’t I get to a point where I could quit my day job and “retire” early by working part time as a writer but bringing in a full time income?!?

There are definite opportunities available to us all, we just need to put in the time and stay focused to our goals in order to get there.

 

