Tags

, ,


I’m a PC user by default.

Desktops and laptops have always been readily available to me. Thus when it came time to move to “21st century technology”, I had to try and see if a tablet could meet my writing needs and eventually replace my cherished PC and windows-based apps.

As I write this blog I’m sitting in a booth in the work break room, using my Samsung Galaxy Tab 8.9 with my HP wireless blue-tooth keyboard. I first tried writing this post through two different Android browsers, but the WordPress site didn’t like either and was super-lagging. I’d type two lines before a single letter of text would show up on the screen. Not good!

I finally downloaded the WordPress app from the Google Play store and things are going much, much better. But I’m still missing some format options and other features of WordPress that I’ve come to rely on with my blog posts.

With the advent of online storage (no need for a hard drive or USB) and online document sharing/storage (no need for a word processor if using Google Drive) I seem to have everything for my writing needs. But there are often times I want to work in a place — like sitting at the edge of the river less than a mile from my house — but am lost without a wi-fi connection giving me access to my files. So I’m still left with storing everything on the device and simply uploading to online storage when I get home. . .just like with a laptop.

To work on a full fledged novel or non-fiction book project and be able to do so without relying on some sort of wireless service, seems to lend itself better to a laptop/PC. I know it could simply be this tablet model, as other models have USB drive ports or SD card ports. At this moment, I’m feeling limited somehow even with storing all my writing directly on the device and backing them up later online.

Navigating with a nice pointy mouse icon vs. a finger or stylus is more accurate and efficient for some activities (i.e. editing large amounts of content). But there are ways to do nearly everything with the tablet that a person would do normally on a PC. . .nearly everything.

Yes, I’m a HUGE fan of the novel/story writing software, WriteItNow, and at the time of this post have not found a version for mobile devices. So back to some other “standard” program or set of programs to organize and track a project’s charaters, locations, notes, etc. I’m not looking forward to having multiple files for a project vs. a one-stop-shop that has a writing project nicely organized for me.

All in all, making the transition can be a bit painful. I think that is because tablets are NOT intended for “productivity” usage but rather for:

  • multi-media content: books, movies, tv, music
  • some games
  • email
  • small writing projects
  • social networking

In the end it’s fun having a tablet with the ability to interact with the so many cool apps and the ability to do most computer-related activities. This means the tablet has a permanent place in my home.

But I’m going to continue to search for the right combination of apps and storage for me to feel like the tablet is a usable device for writing. Until that time, I’m not getting rid of my laptop or PC.

******************************************************************

Set the timer for 10-minutes and try this writing prompt.

Writing prompt #0045

******************************************************************

Write about receiving a text message that made you stop in your tracks, re-read the message, then react.

