Tags

, , , ,


As irony would have it, habit failed me yesterday.

By the time I sat down to write it was  11:45pm last night. I took one look at my netbook, a look at the clock, a look at my bed and opted for the bed in the end. The good and bad of this is:

1) More than one source has stated: Don’t let more than 2 days go by otherwise the difficulty to re-start a habit grows exponentially.

2) I still berate myself for not having blogged, as I did have opportunities throughout the day to do so

I anticipate life will interrupt on more than one more occasion in the future!

But I did read the next chapter in the book, which focused on “Setting & Description”.  This is the heart of most fantasy authors passions: World Building!

The author definitely advises layering specific details into the story, but gives some examples and tips on how to make sure it’s just the right level of layering: not too much or too little.

Even if you’ve never done any world building there are many, many resources on the web, such as: 30 Days of World Building

Whatever resource you choose to use, the more layers you can add then the more rich the world and characters. Thus it becomes a practiced skill of when and how to show details of your world throughout your story. One bit of advice I’m definitely taking to my rewrite process is to use all the senses when describing an item: touch, smell, sound, sight, 6th sense, magic sense, woman’s intuition, etc.

Adding those layers!

**********************************************************************
Set the timer for 10-minutes and try this writing prompt.

Writing prompt #0036

**********************************************************************

Write about wanting to forfeit one’s moral convictions in order to not let the feeling of “love” slip by, for fear that love may never come again.

