Tags

, ,


One element of the Writing Project Plan I was missing from my non-fiction book was a back cover blub. This is the one chance to catch a potential customer’s attention and hopefully get them to want to read the book.

Today during my one hour of writing I went to Amazon.com and searched for similar type books as the one I’m writing. I then took screenshots of the back covers from each book to get an idea of how their blurbs were written.

This was key, because I could see similarities with each. Also, I felt like I could see where my book would stand out amongst the competitors.

Thus I began to write up my back cover blurb.  I found that after having spent time doing the research this process seemed much easier and quicker.

The first draft of my back cover blurb is complete, along with a picture and small bio of the author(me). Going through this exercise really pulled the project / book idea together for me. Not to mention it was fun to write a “sales pitch” for the book.

**********************************************************************
Set the timer for 10-minutes and try this writing prompt.

Writing prompt #0029

**********************************************************************

Think of boy scouts.

What does that conjure up in your mind? Were you a scout or knew someone who was? What if as an adult there was a program to encourage living by a code of ethics and character. How would that change things?

