Tags

, , , , ,


I set out to do 1hour of writing today, broken down as follows:

  • 30-minutes editing a book I’d like to publish
  • 30-minutes writing new content in any one of several near finished projects

The first 30-minutes were sucked away with formatting a new cover page and fussing with page numbers. Not quite the level of editing I planned for.

The second 30-minutes was looking at two fiction novel projects. Both would require me to re-read at least 300 pages before I’d remember who my characters are and how they’d react as I worked on the next outlined chapters (another reason to finish the first draft as a top priority).

Instead, I turned toward the activity of submitting a completed short story to a writing contest. the hope is to make some money and build my writing portfolio.

I found one contents (free entry fee) that has an entry deadline of April 30th and a specific topic ( http://www.parsec-sff.org/contest.html ). I don’t have any short stories with that specific contest topic, but I’m feeling I could write one and edit in ten days.

I found another free contest in which I do have two short stories that meet the theme / requirements ( http://www.zharmae.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=41&Itemid=67 ). So I tracked those down and began a read through, so I can edit and submit before the deadline.

Unfortunately, other than this blog I once again found myself not writing new content. We’ll see what tomorrow brings as I have a full day of meetings at work, no lunch break planned and then boy scouts after dinner.

Where there is a will there is a way!

**********************************************************************
Set the timer for 10-minutes and try this writing prompt.

Writing prompt #0028

**********************************************************************

Open your journal to any day. Read the entry. Then either:

  • Rewrite that entry
  • Write about your thoughts on what was happening during that time in your life. How is hindsight working for you now that time has passed since that entry?
