Tags

,


Today I’m going to try and tackle developing a Writer’s Mission Statement, as I use this blog (https://beingawriter.wordpress.com) as an example.

1. What do you know? What are you an expert in?

Many of us have read the books on writing. A common piece of advice:

Write what you know!

We all know something or have done something long enough we could claim to be an “expert” in an area.

For me I know project management, IT support and health management. For this blog, I could apply my project management skills to work my way through the writing process  — and God willing — though to publication.

2. Who do you want to write for? Who is your audience?

With this blog I want to reach others who have thought about writing, but don’t know where to start, or are scared to start because they think they need to jump right into novel writing but find novel writing too daunting of a task.

3. What is it you want to accomplish with your writing? What message to convey? What benefits for yourself?

For this blog, I want to show that writing can be done even with a busy schedule (like mine!) by breaking the process down into manageable parts.

NOTE: Your answers to the previous questions do NOT have to be altruistic. Your answers can be as selfish as you are led to make them.

My first draft of a writer’s mission statement:

I want https://beingawriter.wordpress.com/ to be a blog that encourages others to write; by demystifying the process, making writing manageable for the busiest person and making writing fun!

I’m going to let that mission statement percolate a few days.

In my next blog, I’m going to add another layer to the mission statement process, that may result in a complete re-write. As a minimum a 2nd draft.

Now your turn!

Write out a first draft of your mission statement. If you wish to post your mission statement as a comment, I’d love to hear from you.

**********************************************************************
Set the timer for 10-minutes and try this writing prompt.

Writing prompt #0002:

**********************************************************************
Write about a time you wanted to give someone a piece of your mind, but didn’t think about what to say till much later, at which point the opportunity was lost.
or
Write about a time you did give someone a piece of your mind. What did you say? How did it turn out?
